External Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on Monday, 4 June 2018

Electoral Division affected: None;

Constitution: Membership; Chair and Deputy Chair; and Terms of Reference of the External Scrutiny Committee

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Gary Halsall, Tel: (01772) 536989, Senior Democratic Services Officer, gary.halsall@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the constitution, membership, chair and deputy chair and terms of reference of the External Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2018/19.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The appointment of County Councillors Ed Nash psc and David Stansfield as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year;
- ii. the Membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 24 May 2018; and
- iii. the Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Background and Advice

The County Council at its meeting on the 24 May 2018, approved the constitution of the External Scrutiny Committee as being 12 members on the basis of 7 from the Conservative group 4 from the Labour group, and 1 from either Liberal Democrat or Independent groups. The following members were appointed by their respective groups:

County Councillors (12):

L Oades
G Oliver
J Rear
J Shedwick
D Stansfield
C Towneley



The Committee's Terms of Reference are set out at Appendix 'A'.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper Date Contact/Tel N/A Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate N/A